1st T20: Bangladesh win toss, to field first against India



Author 2019-11-03 21:27:00


New Delhi, Nov 3: Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah won the toss and elected to field first in the first Twenty20 International (T20I) against India at the Arun Jaitley Stadium here on Sunday evening.

All-rounder Shivam Dube will make his international debut for India. The Indians have decided to go in with three spinners and two pacers.

Left-handed batsman Mohammad Naim will make his debut for Bangladesh.

"We are gonna bowl first. The wicket looks good, so we need to restrict them to as low as we can. It's a good opportunity for other guys in the team to step up in Shakib and Tamim's absence. We are going in with four bowlers and one all-rounder. Three quicks and one leg spinner,"  Mahmudullah said after the toss.

India skipper Rohit Sharma admitted that he would liked his team to bowl first as well.

"We would have bowled first as well considering the dew factor here. Our record chasing is good as well. Nevertheless, we want to change ourselves, that has been a concern over the years. Batting first and defending it later. The pitch looks slightly sticky, we need to assess and see what will be a fighting score," he said.

"We have to win every game, we have to look forward to build a team. This gives us an opportunity to test out few players from the domestic circuit, they have done well. It's their best chance to grab the opportunity. We are trying to stick with the same combination that we have had in this part of the world. We have three spinners, two medium pacers and we have the debutant Shivam Dube who gives us the extra choice in the middle where he can bowl few overs," Rohit added.


India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (w), Krunal Pandya, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Chahar, K Khaleel Ahmed

Bangladesh: Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Mushfiqur Rahim (w), Mahmudullah (c), Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain

News24 Bureau

Photo: Google Image


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment