5 Worst & Bizarre Rules Of Cricket, Know Here
Cricket is the most liked sport in the world. Started at the end of the 16th century, the game spread internationally in the 19th century. Wherever the British Empire spread in the world, this game reached there. There are mainly three formats of cricket in recent times. Tests, ODI's and T-20's.
5. Obstruction In The Air Means Dead Ball
The game of cricket has changed a lot since the advent of technology. The use of spider cams and drone cameras to broadcast cricket on TV has increased significantly. With its use, people are able to get a better viewing experience.
During the match, it has been seen many times that when the batsman plays the ball in the air, the spider cam drone collides with the camera. This prevents the batsman from being dismissed many times, then the ball is taken for 6 runs on many occasions. If something like this happens on the field, the ball is declared dead. That is, bowlers have to bowl that ball again.
4. Non-Striker Out
In 1947/48, Indian cricketer Vinoo Mankad brought a new technique to dismiss batsman standing on non-strike in the Test series against Australia. When he felt that the batsman standing at the other end was coming out of the crease before putting the ball, he blew the bells.
Although this sounds a bit strange, but cricket rules say that a batsman standing on a non-strike cannot leave the crease before the bowler throws the ball. If he stays out of the crease and the bowler hits the ball in the wicket, the batsman will have to return to the pavilion.
3. 5 runs For Ground Abstraction
As mentioned earlier in this article, a dead ball is declared when there is an obstruction with the ball in the air, but the rules are different when it happens on the ground. If the ball stops with the wicket-keeper's helmet, water bottle or fielder placed inside the ground, then the batting team gets 5 runs.
2. Umpires Cannot Give Out Without Appeal
You will find this rule of cricket a little strange. The ball is still in front of the batsman in front of the wicket and he is LBW out, yet the umpire cannot give the batsman out without appealing to the fielding side. This rarely happens in cricket when the bowling team does not appeal.
Despite this, such a rule has been made in cricket. There are many times when the ball goes to the wicket keeper with the edge of the bat but the bowling team does not know because of the noise on the field. After that she does not appeal and in such a situation the umpire cannot give out.
1. Hit The Ball 2 Times
On a cricket field, no batsman can hit 1 ball 2 times. It is against the rules of cricket. However, this is shown in films but batsman cannot do so as per ICC rules. Yes, if the batsman hits the ball again to protect himself, it is allowed to do so. Their final decision is made on the match umpires.