Abhimanyu Mithun, Mayank Agarwal star in Karnataka’s Vijay Hazare title win

The Times of India

The Times of India

Author 2019-10-26 12:07:00

imgBENGALURU: As Tamil Nadu’s Murali Vijay — out for a duck in the opening over of the Vijay Hazare final — walked back to the dressing room, spectators at the M Chinnaswamy stadium screamed, ‘Ee sala cup namde’.

It translates to: ‘this time the cup is ours.’ It’s a slogan coined by Royal Challengers Bangalore, whose fans have been waiting for their team to win the IPL.

But for Karnataka cricket fans, who turned out in heartening numbers on Friday, there was no such disappointment. Their team delivered a 60-run win over Tamil Nadu to clinch their fourth title in the format. On an overcast day, birthday boy Abhimanyu Mithun delivered the first blow with a hat-trick (5-34). Batting stars Mayank Agarwal (69, 55, 7x3, 3x6) and KL Rahul (52, 72b, 5x4) followed up with half-centuries before the skies opened up a little after 3 pm.

At that stage, chasing Tamil Nadu’s 252, Karnataka were 146/1 in 23 overs. The target at that juncture, according to the VJD method, was 86 for the loss of one wicket and Karnataka were well-ahead of that mark. The win was a culmination of five weeks of consistent performance by Manish Pandey and Co with the only blip being their loss to Hyderabad in the league stage.

Brief scores: Tamil Nadu 252 in 49.5 overs (Abhinav Mukund 85, Baba Aparajith 66; A Mithun 5/34, V Koushik 2/39) lost to Karnataka 146/1 in 23 overs (KL Rahul 52 not out, Mayank Agarwal 69 not out) by 60 runs under VJD method.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment