Afghanistan Creates Most Consecutive T20I Victories Record; Equals Australia’s Top Record

Sportz Wiki

Sportz Wiki

Author 2019-09-16 05:20:07


Hosts Bangladesh met Afghanistan in the third T20I of the T20I tri-series at Dhaka. After Afghanistan decided to bat first, they scored 164/6 in 20 overs. Chasing down that target, Bangladesh were all out on just 139 runs (19.5 overs). Afghanistan won this match by 25 runs.

Afghanistan were once struggling on 40/4. However, and rescued the team from that situation and set a challenging T20I total. Afghan-Nabi managed to provide the 79 runs partnership for the fifth wicket. After Afghan lost his wicket on 40 runs off 37 balls (3 fours and 2 sixes), Nabi played an explosive innings in the end.

Nabi completed his half-century in 41 balls and soon he finished that innings on unbeaten 84 runs off 54 balls (3 fours and 7 sixes).


In reply, Bangladesh lost their wickets at regular intervals. Only Mahmuddulah (44 runs) and Sabbir Rahman (24 runs) managed to cross the 20-run mark.

The Afghanistan off-spinner had the bowling figures of 4-0-15-4. Also, Fareed Ahmed (2/33), (2/23) and (2/27) claimed two wickets each. However, Nabi won the Player of the Match award for his game-changing knock.

Afghanistan managed 12th straight T20I victories

It was Afghanistan’s 12th successive victories in T20I cricket. With this victory, they beat the previous most consecutive T20I victories record which was 11 by Afghanistan once again. From 27th March 2016 to 12th March 2017, Afghanistan had won 11 straight T20Is and created that record.


This time Afghanistan broke own record and created a new history. Since 5th February 2018, Afghanistan have won all their 12 T20Is. During this period, Afghanistan have beaten Zimbabwe (three times), Bangladesh (four times) and Ireland (five times).

The full list of Afghanistan’s 12 successive T20I victories

OppositionWinning marginVenueDate
 Zimbabwe5 wicketsSharjah5th February 2018
 Zimbabwe17 runsSharjah6th February 2018
 Bangladesh45 runsDehradun3rd June 2018
 Bangladesh6 wicketsDehradun5th June 2018
 Bangladesh1 runDehradun7th June 2018
 Ireland16 runsBready20th August 2018
 Ireland81 runsBready22nd August 2018
 Ireland5 wicketsDehradun21st February 2019
 Ireland84 runsDehradun23rd February 2019
 Ireland32 runsDehradun24th February 2019
Zimbabwe28 runsDhaka14th September 2019
Bangladesh25 runsDhaka15th September 2019

Australia’s 12 consecutive T20I undefeated streak record has been levelled

With this victory, Afghanistan have also equalled another top T20I record. While it was their 12th straight T20I victories, they have equalled the record of playing most consecutive T20I matches without a defeat.

Earlier, Australia had also managed to play 12 most consecutive T20I matches without a defeat from 30th August 2009 to 14th May 2010. During that time, Australia had won 10 T20Is, tied one T20I (lost the one-over eliminator) and one had no result.

If Afghanistan maintain their non-defeat streak in the next T20I game against Zimbabwe on 20th September, they will create a new record after surpassing Australia’s record.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment