Andrew Tye Ruled Out Of Sri Lanka Series, Sean Abbott To Replace Him



Author 2019-10-26 14:55:00


Australian speedster Andrew Tye has been ruled out of Australia's T20 series against Sri Lanka after he suffered an elbow injury on Friday. Andrew Tye, who was a part of Australia's T20 line-up, was ruled out of the tournament after he could not participate in the team's training session at The Oval, Adelaide. Pacer Sean Abbott has been called in as a replacement for injured Andrew Tye. Australia will take on Sri Lanka in three T20s beginning from October 27 at Adelaide, Brisbane, and Melbourne before they face Pakistan in November.

Andrew Tye ruled out with elbow injury

"A role-specific squad"

Despite their success in other formats, Australia has never won a T20 World Cup, with a 2010 final appearance their best showing. The competition gets underway Down Under next October and selectors are banking on the same 14 picked to play Sri Lanka forming the bulk of their side. "We have looked to put a squad together that we think can take us through to that tournament," said national selector Trevor Hohns. "The squad we have selected is quite role-specific and we believe it gives us the flexibility to thrive in all match conditions." Aaron Finch retains the captaincy, with Smith still barred from holding any leadership role until the end of March for his part on trying to alter the ball with sandpaper in South Africa last year.


Australia squad: Aaron Finch (capt), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, Sean Abbott, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Sri Lanka squad: Lasith Malinga (capt), Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana and Kasun Rajitha


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment