Bangladesh Announce T20I Squad For Upcoming 3-match Series In India



Author 2019-10-18 13:07:00


Bangladesh have recalled spinner Arafat Sunny and pace bowler Al-Amin Hossain to their 15-man squad for the upcoming three-match Twenty20 International series against India. Sunny hasn't played for Bangladesh since he was suspended during the 2016 ICC World Twenty20 for an illegal bowling action. On the other hand, Hossain co-incidentally played his international match for Bangladesh against India in the 2016 ICC World Twenty20.

Earlier, Sunny had also spent two months in jail after being arrested in January 2017. He faced the punishment for posting intimate photos of his girlfriend on social media. Talking to the press, chief selector Minhajul Abedin said that the 33-year-old Sunny had been recalled because Bangladesh need few experienced bowlers in their side against India. He stated that India is a tough team to beat and experience would count in this case. He added that the 29-year-old Hossain is in the squad as some of Bangladesh’s fast bowlers are injured.

Other inclusions

Left-handed opening batsman Tamim Iqbal also returned to the squad after he went on a break during the recent tri-series against Afghanistan and Zimbabwe and is reportedly fit to play despite a recent injury scare. Meanwhile, batsmen Sabbir Rahman and Najmul Hossian, who played in the tri-series, will miss the upcoming action against India. Also, left-arm spinner Taijul Islam and fast bowler Rubel Hossain have been axed.

The first match of the series on November 3, 2019, is scheduled to play at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi. Meanwhile, the other two games on November 7 and 10 will be played at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot and Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur respectively.

Bangladesh Squad:

Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain, Musaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam Biplob, Arafat Sunny, Mohammad Saifuddin, Al-Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment