Bangladesh Name Mominul Haque As Test Captain Post Shakib's Suspension



Author 2019-10-30 01:24:00


Following the suspension of Shakib Al Hasan from international cricket for two years, the Bangladesh Cricket Board on Tuesday announced that Mominul Haque will be leading the test side against India in the upcoming test series which is scheduled to begin on November 14. This comes after the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the suspension of Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan from all forms of cricket for two years after he accepted three charges under the ICC Anti-Corruption Code. Earlier on Tuesday, it was also announced that second test between India and Bangladesh at Eden Garden in Kolkata will be a day-night test after the BCB board accepted BCCI's proposal. It will also be the first day-night test played by both countries.

Mominul Haque to lead test side; Mahmudullah will captain T20 squad

The BCB, on Tuesday, announced its squad for the Bangladesh tour of India which comprises of three tests and three T20s and also stated that Mominul Haque will captain the side in tests whereas Mahmudullah will lead the T20 squad. According to the ICC ruling, Shakib Al Hasan will be able to resume international cricket on 29 October 2020, on the subject to him satisfying the conditions in respect of the suspended part of the sanction. On accepting the suspension, Al Hasan said, "I am obviously extremely sad to have been banned from the game I love, but I completely accept my sanction for not reporting the approaches. The ICC ACU is reliant on players to play a central part in the fight against corruption and I didn’t do my duty in this instance. Like the majority of players and fans around the world, I want cricket to be a corruption-free sport and I am looking forward to working with the ICC ACU team to support their education programme and ensure young players don’t make the same mistake I did.”

Bangladesh Squad for India tour

T20 Squad : Mahmudullah (Captain), Litton Kumer Das, Soumya Sarker, Naim Sheikh, Mushfiqur Rahim, Md Mithun, Afif Hossain, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Aminul Islam Biplob, Arafat Sunny, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Abu Hider Rony, Al Amin Hossain

Test Squad : Mominul Haque (Captain), Shadman Islam, Imrul Kayes, Saif Hasan, Litton Kumer Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmud Ullah, Md Mithun, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Ebadat Hossain


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment