Bangladesh Revamp 15-Member Side For Rest Of The Tri-Series, Soumya Sarkar Out



Author 2019-09-16 07:25:19


Following a hard-fought victory against Zimbabwe and a loss against Afghanistan, the Bangladesh Cricket Team has made a few changes to their side. One of the shocking exclusions was Soumya Sarkar while the youngster Mohammad Naim receives his maiden call-up for Bangladesh.

Bangladesh have picked uncapped left-handed opener Mohammad Naim and young leg-spinning batting all-rounder Aminul Islam Biplob in their 15-member squad for the third and fourth Twenty20 internationals in the ongoing Twenty20 tri-nation series.

Naim Shaikh is out furture prospect – BCB Chief Selector

After slumping to a narrow 25-run defeat at the hands of Afghanistan, Bangladesh have called back experienced pacemen Rubel Hossain and Shafiul Islam in their 15-member national squad.  Hossain, who has not appeared in a T20I match for Bangladesh since August last year, has been recalled in order to add some experience to the pace attack.

imgSoumya Sarkar Getty Images

“We picked Naim Shaikh as he is one of our future prospects. He is playing well for quite some time and we feel it is the right time to see how he handles the pressure of international cricket,” chief selector Minhajul Abedin told Cricbuzz on Monday.

Apart from Rubel and Shafiul, Bangladesh have drafted in Najmul Hossain, the offspinner, teenaged leg-spinning-allrounder Aminul Islam, and exciting young opening batsman Mohammad Naim. Najmul, 21, has played two Test matches and three ODIs since making his international debut in January 2017.

imgBangladesh (Credits: Twitter)

Both those matches, as well as Afghanistan’s win over Zimbabwe, were played in Dhaka, and now the action shifts to Chattogram for the second set of round-robin matches.

Bangladesh have enjoyed mixed success in the tournament so far. While they picked up a thrilling win over Zimbabwe, the hosts lost to Afghanistan comfortably by 25 runs on Sunday. They will play the two sides again before a potential final on September 24.


Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mohammad Naim Shaikh, Aminul Islam, Najmul Hossain


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment