Bengal ease past Tripura in Vijay Hazare Trophy

The Times of India

The Times of India

Author 2019-10-10 00:04:00


KOLKATA: A 115-run fourth-wicket stand between Manoj Tiwary and Agniv Pan helped Bengal beat Tripura by five wickets in their Elite Group ‘C’ Vijay Hazare Trophy clash at the KL Saini ground in Jaipur on Wednesday.

The win may not be enough for Bengal to qualify for the knockout stage after their match against Madhya Pradesh was abandoned two days ago. Bengal, in third place with 18 points from seven matches, will not only have to win their remaining two, but will also need Gujarat (24 pts from 6 matches) to lose all three. Tamil Nadu (28 pts from 7 games) are ensured of a knockout berth.

Former skipper Manoj Tiwary, who had been providing vital breakthroughs with the ball, was back among runs as he scored a useful 85 (103 balls, 7x4).

Pan, replacing out-of-form vice-captain Sudip Chatterjee, provided good support to Tiwary after Bengal were reduced to 70 for three while chasing 225 for victory. The wicketkeeper-batsman compiled a 78-ball 57 with four fours and one six.

Earlier Bengal skipper Abhimanyu Easwaran won the toss and asked Tripura to bat first. Youngsters Ishan Porel, Akash Deep and Ayan Bhattacharjee rose to the challenge with veteran Ashok Dinda being rested. Porel and Deep claimed two wickets each while Bhattacharjee picked up one wicket.

That Tripura managed to reach 224 was mainly because of No. 3 Tanmay Mishra, who scored 88 (99 balls, 8x4).

Brief scores:Tripura 224 in 49 overs (Mishra 72, Milind 43, MB Mura Singh 30, Akash Deep 2/29, Ishan Porel 2/45) lost to Bengal 227/5 in 47.1 overs (Manoj Tiwary 85, Agniv Pan 57, Mura Singh 2/32).


Experience triple speed

Never miss the exciting moment of the game