Big wins for Haryana, Punjab in Hazare Trophy

The Tribune

The Tribune

Author 2019-10-06 11:24:00


Vadodara, October 5

Sumit Kumar produced a fine all-round performance as Haryana defeated Baroda by 58 runs in their Group B match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Sumit struck a splendid 66-ball 58 to lift his team’s total to 217. He then starred with the ball, claiming five wickets to seal the match for Haryana. Electing to bat, Haryana were powered by Ankit Kumar (48), Pramod Chandila (48) and Sumit to a total of 217. Ankit’s innings was laced with five fours while the duo of Chandila and Sumit hit four boundaries each. Sumit also hit the lone six of the innings.

For Baroda, captain Krunal Pandya starred with the ball, returning with figures of 3/46. He picked up the vital wickets of Ankit and Chandila. Chasing 218, Baroda were bundled out for 159 in 40.2 overs, thanks to a disciplined effort by the Haryana bowlers. The 23-year-old Sumit picked up five wickets, while leg-spinner Amit Mishra accounted for three. Yuzvendra Chahal and Jayant Yadav claimed one wicket each.

Openers Kedar Devdhar and Aditya Waghmode provided a good start to the Baroda innings before the former was bowled by Chahal. Waghmode went on to top-score for his team, hitting an excellent half-century but it was not enough to take them over the line. His 65-run knock included seven boundaries. No other batsman could capitalise on the starts and failed to build a partnership with Waghmode. This was Haryana’s second win of the season while Baroda remained winless in five matches and are out of contention for a berth in the knockouts.

Punjab beat Vidarbha by 7 wickets

In the other Group B match of the day, spinner Karan Kaila picked up four wickets before Gurkeerat Singh Mann and Anmolpreet Singh helped Punjab thrash Vidarbha by 7 wickets. The match between Delhi and Maharashtra was abandoned without a ball being bowled.

Jharkhand win

Fifties from Kumar Deobrat and Saurabh Tiwari helped Jharkhand trounce Hyderabad by 6 wickets in a rain-curtailed Elite Group A match.

Brief Scores: Haryana: 217 all out in 49.1 overs (Sumit Kumar 66, Ankit Kumar 48, Pramod Chandila 48; Krunal Pandya 3/46); Baroda: 159 in 40.2 overs (Sumit Kumar 5/14, Yuzvendra Chahal 1/26); (Match-2): Vidarbha: 155 all out in 43.1 (Faiz Fazal 72; Karan Kaila 4/32); Punjab: 158/3 in 46.2 (Gurkeerat Singh 51*; Akshay Wakhare 2/29). — PTI


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment