Brilliant Rasool guides J&K to emphatic win over Railways

Daily Excelsior

Daily Excelsior

Author 2019-10-04 04:39:56

* Gujarat routs Bihar; Bengal posts win
Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAIPUR, Oct 3: Skipper Parvez Rasool hammered an unbeaten 118 (112 balls, 9 fours, four sixes) to power Jammu & Kashmir to a four-wicket win over Railways in Vijay Hazare Trophy Elite Group-C match at KL Saini Stadium, Jaipur today.
Chasing a good total of 286 runs, Jammu and Kashmir rode on a magnificent century by Parvez Rasool after the early dismissal of openers Ahmed Omar Banday (4) and Qamran Iqbal (0) to chase the target on the very first ball of the 50th over. Stylish Southpaw Shubham Singh Pundir and youngster Abdul Samad contributed valuable 38 and 36 runs to the total respectively, while dependable Shubham Khajuria and wicketkeeper batsman Fazil Rashid scored 29 runs each. Reliable all-rounder Ramdayal contributed brisk unbeaten 22 runs off just 14 balls. It was Rasool who led from the front and gave his side a much needed victory. Himanshu Sangwan was the most successful bowler from Railways who took 3 wickets by conceding 66 runs in his 10 overs.
Earlier, put into bat, Railways scored a good total 285 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in 50 overs. Dinesh Mor top scored with 70 runs, while Arindam Ghosh and Karn Sharma contributed 64 and 40 runs to the total respectively. Speedster Umar Nazir took 3 wickets by conceding 53 runs.
Gujarat posted an impressive seven-wicket win over Bihar in a Vijay Hazare Group ‘C’ match here today.
After Bihar was bundled out for 126 in 42.2 overs, Gujarat rattled up the required runs in 19.2 overs to notch up a fifth straight win.
The Bihar batting collapsed against the face of a disciplined Gujarat attack with Rush Kalaria impressing with a haul of 2 for 22 to be bowled out in the 43rd over.
Gujarat opener Priyank Panchal hit some lovely shots as the team coasted home in the 20th over.
In the third match of the day, Bengal rode on Abhishek Kumar Raman’s 122 not out (108 balls, 11 fours) to register a five-wicket win over Rajasthan.
Brief scores: Railways 285 for 6 in 50 overs (Dinesh Mor 70, Arindam Ghosh 64, Karn Sharma 40, Umar Nazir 3/53) lost to Jammu & Kashmir 287 for 6 in 49.1 overs (Parvez Rasool 118 not out, Shubham Singh Pundir 38, Abdul Samad 36, Ram Dayal 22 not out, Himanshu Sangwan 3 for 66). J&K: 4 points, Railways: 0.
Bihar 126 all out in 42.2 overs (Sachin Kumar Singh 44 not out, Babul Kumar 27, CT Gaja 2/19, Rush Kalaria 2/22) lost to Gujarat 128 for 3 in 19.1 overs (Priyank Panchal 40, Axar Patel 27 not out, Dhruv Raval 25). Gujarat: 4 points, Bihar: 0.
Rajasthan 265 for 4 in 50 overs (Mahipal Lomror 79, A
R Gupta 56, RK Bishnoi 42 not out, Arnab Nandi 2/32) lost to Bengal 266 for 5 in 49 overs (Abhishek Kumar Raman 122 not out (108 balls, 11 fours), Abhimanyu Easwaran 66, R M Bishnoi (3/49). Bengal: 4 points, Rajasthan: 0.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment