Chandigarh crush Maharashtra

The Tribune

The Tribune

Author 2019-11-10 10:11:00


Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, November 9

Skipper Manan Vohra led from the front with a blistering half-century to help Chandigarh beat Maharashtra by seven wickets at the Sector 16 stadium here today and register their second successive win in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Chasing 163 runs for victory, Chandigarh lost opener Amit Parashar in the first over of their innings. He was caught by Swapnil Gugale off Samad Fallah on four. However, Vohra along with Shivam Bhambri, who scored a century against Himachal Pradesh yesterday, ensured that the hosts take full advantage of the power play.

The duo stretched the total to 45 runs in the fifth over before Bhambri fell to Satyajeet Bachhav on 19.

Vohra, though, was in no mood to relent as he sent the Maharashtra bowlers on a leather hunt, hitting three sixes and six boundaries to race to 75 runs in 52 balls and help his side reach the target within 13 balls to spare.

Bipul Sharma remained not on 36, while Gaurv Puri contributed 24 runs to the chase.

Earlier, Maharashtra rode on wicketkeeper batsman Nikhil Naik's unbeaten 34-ball 50 to reach 162/8 in 20 overs after skipper Rahul Tripathi had elected to bat first.

Opener Ruturaj Gaikwad hit a 24-ball 34 before he was run out by Vohra, while Gugale added a brisk 22 to the Maharashtra total.

Out-of-favour India all-rounder Kedar Jadhav failed to impress with the bat, scoring just 13 off 15 balls before he was stumped by Jaskaran Sohi off Gurinder Singh.

For Chandigarh, Shresth Nirmohi (2/18) and Gurinder Singh (2/36) took two wickets each, while Bipul Sharma (1/31) and Barinder Sran (1/53) picked a wicket apiece.

Chhattisgarh beat Himachal

In the other Group C encounter, Chhattisgarh bowlers restricted Himachal Pradesh to 123/8 in 20 overs before opener Ashutosh Singh scored an unbeaten 61 to lead his side to an eight-wicket win.

Put in to bat, Himachal batsmen failed to stitch any significant partnership as they lost wickets at regular intervals.

Nitin Sharma scored a quick-fire 35, but could not provide the necessary impetus to the Himachal innings as wickets kept tumbling at the other end.

Amit Kumar made 23, while Ekant Sen added 16 runs to the Himachal total.

Ajay Mandal (3/18) and Puneet Datey (3/23) shared six wickets between them, while Pankaj Rao and Shashank Singh accounted for one wicket each.

In reply, Chhattisgarh were reduced to 44/2 in 6.1 overs but Ashutosh and Amandeep Khare (26 not out) ensured the side reach home without any hiccups.

Easy outing for Punjab

Punjab, meanwhile, had an easy outing against Arunachal Pradesh.

Opting to bowl, Punjab restricted Arunachal to 44/7 after the match was reduced to eight overs-a-side due to wet outfield.

Baltej Dhanda was the pick of the bowlers for Punjab, claiming 3/11 in his two overs. Sandeep Sharma took 1/6.

In reply, Punjab scampered home in four overs with openers Shubman Gill and Abhiraj Singh remaining not out on 24 and 23 runs, respectively.

Railways tame Hyderabad

In another Group C match, Railways defeated Hyderabad by four wickets at the Government Model Senior Secondary School grounds in Sector 26.

Put in to bat, Hyderabad made 183/3 in 20 overs. Ambati Rayadu made a 51-ball 77, while Sandeep Bavanaka hammered an unbeaten 43-ball 74. Akshath Reddy chipped in with 21 runs.

Railways, in reply, reached home on the last ball of the match with four wickets in hand. Mohammed Ahmed made 29-ball 40, while Pratham Singh and Pradeep Thippeswamy contributed 35 runs each to the chase.

Brief scores

Maharashtra 162/8 in 20 overs (NS Naik 50*, Ruturaj Gaikwad; Shresth 2/18, Gurinder Singh 2/36) lost to Chandigarh 163/3 in 17.5 overs (Manan Vohra 75*, Bipul Sharma 36*; Rahul Tripath 1/12)

Arunachal Pradesh 44/7 in 8 overs (Uvais Ahmad 12; Baltej Dhanda 3/11) lost to Punjab 50/0 in 4 overs (Shubman Gil 24*, Abhiraj Singh 23*)

Hyderabad 183/3 in 20 overs (Ambati Rayudu 77, Sandeep Bavanaka 74*; Harsh Tyagi 1/29) lost to Railways 184/6 in 20 overs (Mohammed Ahmed 40, Pradeep T Thippeswamy 35*; Mehdi Hasan 3/29)

Himachal Pradesh 123/8 in 20 overs (Nitin Sharma 35*; Ajay Mandal 3/18) lost to Chhattisgarh 124/2 in 18.1 overs (Veer Pratap Singh 61*; Ayush Jamwal 2/11)


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment