Cricket Australia commit to pay parity for women's World T20

The Guardian

The Guardian

Author 2019-10-15 05:13:18


Cricket Australia will top up any prize money won by Australia’s women’s cricket team at next year’s T20 World Cup to ensure parity with the men’s equivalent winnings.

The ICC has increased the prize money pool for the 2020 World Cup by 320% on the 2018 tournament. The winners will receive $US1m ($1.475m), with the runners-up to take home $US500,000 ($737,500) – but those figures still fall short of what the men receive.

Cricket Australia reveals ground-breaking parental leave policy for players

As a result, CA will meet make up any of the shortfall for the women’s team to ensure they are compensated as handsomely as their male counterparts. For example, if Australia win the tournament, CA would top up the $US1m winners’ prize money with a further $US600,000 ($885,000) to ensure parity.

“We want to continue our commitment to equality by ensuring that any prize money earned by the Australian women’s team in the T20 World Cup is the same as what is on offer in the men’s side of the tournament,” Cricket Australia chief executive Keith Roberts said. “This will include matching the prize money for the final, semi-finals, or group stage.”

Thomas said while the ICC’s decision to improve women’s prize money was a positive step, CA’s move continued to drive the figure towards parity in the long term.

“I commend the ICC’s commitment and while there is no doubt we are starting to see financial progress for our talented cricketers, we still have a way to go and CA will continue to play a role in driving equality for our athletes,” he said.

History made as Australia extend ODI winning run to 18 matches

All Australian players receive the same base pay rate, regardless of gender, after the negotiation of a Memoriam of Understanding with the Australian Cricketers’ Association in 2017.

The MoU saw payments for elite female cricketers increase from $7.5m over the previous five-year period to $55m over the term of the current collective bargaining agreement, which is in place until 2023.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment