Dinesh Karthik To Lead, Vijay Shankar Named Vice-Captain Of Star-Studded Tamil Nadu For Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy



Author 2019-10-29 17:31:30


Out-of-favour India wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik will continue to lead Tamil Nadu in the domestic circuit as he has been named as their captain for the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The senior cricketer will have Vijay Shankar as his deputy. He also assisted Karthik during Vijay Hazare Trophy.

R Ashwin and Murali Vijay are two other international players in the squad while Washington Sundar will join the team after the Bangladesh T20Is. Ashwin will leave the team midway as he is a part of the Test series against Bangladesh.

imgDinesh Karthik. Credit: BCCI

Starting from Karthik, the 34-year-old is vying to make a comeback in the shortest format ahead of T20 World Cup and has a strong chance to be part of next year’s T20 World Cup, given MS Dhoni is unlikely to play the tournament.

India do have likes of Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson in the ranks but Karthik’s experience, which also got him nod for 2019 World Cup, can see him make a comeback.

Like Karthik, Shankar is also vying for a comeback. He was a part of the World Cup 2019 squad but was ruled out in the middle of the tournament due to an injury. He was pipped by Shivam Dube for a place in the squad for the Bangladesh T20Is but can make a comeback as Hardik Pandya is expected to sit out for next four-five months.


Ashwin, who is unlikely to make his white-ball comeback for India, will provide the solidity to Tamil Nadu in the initial matches and will spearhead the spin attack which has likes of R Sai Kishore, Murugan Ashwin and all-rounder Baba Aparajith, who earned a call-up for Deodhar Trophy following a brilliant run in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Vijay, who will open the innings, will have a new player at the other end at Abhinav Mukund did not place a place in the squad. With 600 runs in the tournament, Mukund was second-highest run-scorer in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Tamil Nadu kick off their campaign against Robin Uthappa-led Kerala on November 8.

Squad: Dinesh Karthik (captain), Vijay Shankar (vice-captain), Murali. Vijay, N. Jagadeesan, C. Hari Nishaanth, Baba Aparajith, M. Shahrukh Khan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Murugan Ashwin, R. Sai Kishore, T. Natarajan, G. Periyaswamy, K. Vignesh, M. Mohammad, J. Kousik.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment