First There Was ODI, Then Came T20 And Now We Have T10. Here's What You Need To Know About The Latest Version



Author 2019-11-07 16:02:38

There was a time when cricket was all about the Tests, the longest format of the game. It was the sole format and had people thronging to the stadiums.

It was where it all started for cricket - the battle between the bat and ball became an engrossing affair, and the game had spectators excited and intrigued. But over the course of time Test matches lost the glamour and sheen as crowd-pullers.

It all paved the way for the novel idea of one-day format. The first One Day International (ODI) was played between arch-rivals Australia and England on January 5, 1971 at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

It was a Test match which was washed out for the first three days and it was decided to play a one-day game consisting of 40 eight-ball a side. Australia won the game by 5 runs. The ODIs then were played in white kits and a red ball.

Over the next decades and counting, ODIs have become a prominent and influential format of the game. It has attracted more audiences, and taken the interest a notch higher.


Even after the massive success of ODIs, a need for faster, shorter and explosive format was felt. Thus, came the T20 cricket. A mere four hours affair, 20 overs per side, and batsmen going hammering tongs from the get go.

The format has been a revelation in itself, and it has brought people to cricket who found the Tests and ODIs very time consuming and sometimes uninteresting.

Though the number of fans watching T20 is comparatively very high, Test cricket is still followed by a considerable amount of loyal fans. The audience count for ODI lies somewhere between the count of T20 and Tests.

Although change is inevitable and cricket is no exception. With each format having a specific set of rules and a separate group of audiences, cricket is moving it a new direction.

Well, if three formats weren't enough, we now have a T10 format. Well, some or even most people might be unaware of it, but it definitely is a thing.

Let us tell you all about it.

What is T10 League?

As the name suggests, T10 is a new revolutionary format consisting of 10-over-a-side match which takes place in the 90 minute duration.


Who is behind the concept?


T10 League is a sports entertainment ten-over cricket league launched and owned by Indian company T10 Sports Management. The league is approved by the Emirates Cricket Board. It is the first ever internationally approved ten-over league.

Taking inspiration from the Indian Premier League, but bringing in a new form of cricket, T10 is another extravagant and glamorous commercial league. The first edition of the event took place in 2017 and the third edition will take place this month from November 15-24.

How the tournament works?

The tournament consists of eight teams - Team Abu Dhabi, Maratha Arabians, Bangla Tigers, Deccan Gladiators, Qalandars, Delhi Bulls, Northern Warriors, and Karnataka Tuskers.

From the inaugural edition of 2017, many teams have been replaced this season. The Sindhis, Bengal Tigers and Pakhtoons have been replaced by newly formed Deccan Gladiators, Delhi Bulls and Bangla Tigers teams respectively.


Another new team named Qalandars were added in September. They are owned by the same franchise that owns Lahore Qalandars. Kerala Knights, Punjabi Legends and Rajputs were replaced by Karnataka Tuskers and Team Abu Dhabi.

The tournament follows the round robin format, with teams divided into two groups consisting of four teams each. The top two teams from each group qualify for the playoffs.


The duration of each innings is a maximum of 10 overs per side with each bowler allowed to bowl no more than 2 overs in an innings.

For a result, in case of interruption, a minimum of 5 overs shall be bowled for each innings. In case of rain, the outcome of the match shall be derived by DLS method.

The tournament will have many former and current internationals players adding the glamour quotient.

The likes of England's World Cup winning captain Eoin Morgan, former Indian players Yuvraj Singh and Zaheer Khan, and T20 specialists like Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, and Kieron Pollard, will plying their trade in United Arab Emirates.

A new format of the length of a football match - 90 minutes, it iss another revolution in the gentleman's game. But the question looms large, will it degrade the quality of cricket?

The start has been made, but its impact will only be felt in the next few years.


Experience triple speed

Never miss the exciting moment of the game