Former India captain Sourav Ganguly took over as the president of BCCI today

NewsTrack Live

NewsTrack Live

Author 2019-10-23 16:02:33

News Track 23 October 2019 13:32


Mumbai: Sourav Ganguly, better known as the former captain and grandfather of the Indian team, has officially become the 39th president of the BCCI on Wednesday. Ganguly took over the board at the board headquarters in Mumbai around 11.15 am on Wednesday. During the annual meeting of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, all the officials including Jai Shah and COA chief Vinod Rai were present during this period. Ganguly was elected unopposed for the post. Ganguly's tenure will be 10 months. After a long gap of about 30 months, the BCCI will get the chairman, besides them other members of the board will also take over their respective responsibilities.

These include Jai Shah (Gujarat) secretary, son of Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Mahima Verma vice-president of Uttarakhand, former president of BCCI and younger brother of Union Minister of State for Finance Anurag Thakur, Arun Dhumal (Himachal Pradesh) treasurer and Jayesh George (Kerala) joint secretary. . COA Chief Vinod Rai said that the entire process would be followed during the AGM. He said, 'First the accounts of the last three years will be approved. Election officials will then announce the results of the election as all have been elected unopposed.

We will talk to Sourav and set the schedule. Ganguly will be the Board President for about ten months and his term will end in July next year. According to the new rules, any member can hold a post of cricket board for only six consecutive years. Ganguly is the President of Bengal Cricket Association for five years and two months hence his tenure in BCCI will be only ten months.



Experience triple speed

Never miss the exciting moment of the game