Haryana, TN, UP among 8 units barred from BCCI AGM

The Tribune

The Tribune

Author 2019-10-11 10:29:00


New Delhi, October 10

Eight state units out of the 38 were barred from attending the BCCI Annual General Meeting in Mumbai on October 23 because their amended constitutions do not comply with the Lodha Committee recommendations.

The scenario about who would attend the AGM became clear after BCCI electoral officer N Gopalaswami released the final electoral roll. Manipur, Uttar Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Haryana, Maharashtra, Railways, Services and Association of Indian Universities will not have any voting rights in case there is an election during the AGM. The three government institutions were barred as they failed to form a players’ association.

Former India captain Sourav Ganguly is the nominated representative of Cricket Association of Bengal, of which he is the president. Mohammad Azharuddin, another former India captain, will be representing the Hyderabad Cricket Association. Rajat Sharma (Delhi), Jay Shah (Saurashtra), Arun Singh Dhumal (Himachal Pradesh) and Brijesh Patel (Karnataka) are among the other nominated representatives. Most of the barred state units are likely to challenge the decision in court and that could put the AGM in jeopardy.

ICA elections: Azad, Gaekwad main contenders

New Delhi: Former Indian women’s cricket team captain Shantha Rangaswamy is set to become part of the all-powerful BCCI Apex Council as she is in line to be elected unopposed from the Indian Cricketers’ Association (ICA) following polls that begin on Friday.

Rangaswamy is the sole candidate to be the ICA representative nominee to the nine-member BCCI Apex Council. With the ICA president and its representative nominee to the IPL Governing Council set to be elected unopposed, the main fight during the three-day election will be between former cricketers Kirti Azad and Anshuman Gaekwad to become the male representative nominee to the BCCI Apex Council.

The third former cricketer in the fray is Saurashtra’s Rakesh Dhruve. Ashok Malhotra and Surender Khanna are set to be elected unopposed as ICA president and representative nominee to the IPL Governing Council, respectively.

Ashu Dani and Hitesh Majumdar are running for the secretary’s post while Kishore Kumar and V Krishnaswamy contest the election to become the treasurer. — PTI


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment