ICC scraps boundary count rule that decided 2019 World Cup
The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday scrapped the contentious boundary count rule that bagged England the 2019 World Cup despite the final against New Zealand ending in a tie. As a result, the rule will no longer be used at future ICC events.
On the other hand, ICC's Chief Executive Committee agreed that the use of a Super Over as a way to decide results at ICC events will be retained. "Both the Cricket Committee and CEC agreed it was an exciting and engaging conclusion to the game and will remain in place covering all games at both ODI and T20I World Cups," an ICC release said.
"In group stages, if the Super Over is tied, the match will be tied. In semifinals and finals, there is one change to the Super Over-regulation in keeping with the basic principle of scoring more runs than the opponent to win, the Super Over will be repeated until one team has more runs than the other," it added.
Talking about the 2019 World Cup final, New Zealand held England to a tie after setting a target of 242. However, the Super Over also ended in a tie but England's tally of 22 boundaries against New Zealand's 17 throughout the match made the hosts the eventual winners.