ICC Scraps Controversial Boundary Count Rule in Super Overs

News 18

News 18

Author 2019-10-15 00:58:58

img The controversial boundary count rule will now not be used to decide the result of a semi-final or final at an ICC event, in case of a tied Super Over. The Super over will now be repeated as many times as necessary until one team outscores the other.

"In Semi-finals and Finals, there is one change to the Super Over regulation in keeping with the basic principle of scoring more runs than the opponent to win, the Super Over will be repeated until one team has more runs than the other," the ICC stated in a release on Monday (October 14), adding that that the change was "in keeping with the basic principle of scoring more runs than the opponent to win."

"Following on from a recommendation from the ICC Cricket Committee, the Chief Executives' Committee agreed that the use of the Super Over as a way to decide results at ICC events will be retained. Both the Cricket Committee and CEC agreed it was an exciting and engaging conclusion to the game and will remain in place covering all games at both ODI and T20I World Cups," the release added.

The boundary count rule had come under criticism after England were declared winners of the 2019 ICC World Cup based on the rule in the final against New Zealand.

The Super Over will also be used as a means to determine a winner in case a match is tied in the group stages. However, should both teams score the same number of runs after the Super Over, points will be split between the sides.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment