ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019: All you need to know about qualifying tournament in UAE

Times Now

Times Now

Author 2019-10-18 03:40:09


The road to next year's International Cricket Council (ICC) World T20 will begin in United Arab Emirates (UAE) on Friday as 14 teams are set to battle for the remaining places in the form of the qualifying tournament. The 2019 ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier hosted by UAE will determine the fate of the nations who are still eyeing a berth in the forthcoming World Cup hosted by Australia. With the T20 World Cup Qualifier action expected to take over the cricket world in the coming months, here's everything you need to know about the qualifying tournament.

How many places up for grabs?

As many as six places are available and winners of the qualifiers will be joining Asian giants Bangladesh and Sri Lanka in the first round of the 2020 spectacle. The first round of the World Cup will be played in two groups and teams with the top two finish can find themselves on board with Australia, Pakistan, India, New Zealand, England, South Africa, West Indies and Afghanistan for the Super 12 phase.

Know the participants

Fourteen teams will battle for supremacy in the upcoming ICC qualifier tournament beginning from Friday. Teams are divided equally into two groups - Group A and Group B. Scotland, the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Namibia, Singapore, Kenya and Bermuda pitted in Group A while the Groupe B is represented by Ireland, Oman, Hong Kong, Canada, Jersey, Nigeria and hosts UAE.

Qualifier dates and venues

The Men's T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019 hosted by UAE is scheduled to take place from 18 October to 2 November. The ICC Qualifier will be held in Dubai and Abu Dhabi. While Dubai is set to showcase Group A action at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi's Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium and Tolerance Oval are the tow venues from games played in Group B of the World T20I Qualifier. The Dubai International Stadium will be hosting the summit clash.

From group stage to play-offs: How the playing format works

Members of Group A and Group B will cross paths once in the league and the winner of each group can confirm their qualification spot for the 2020 spectacle along with the semi-final berth of the Qualifier. Teams who will finish second and third from their respective groups will go into the playoff 1 and 2 phase. The winning team from the playoff stage will secure the remaining semi-final spots of the tournament along with World Cup qualification.


The losing teams of the play-offs 1 and 2 can find themselves competing with fourth-place sides after the conclusion of the group stage phase in the 3 and 4 playoff games. The winners of the play-offs 3 and 4 will secure the remaining two slots for the 2020 T20 World Cup.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment