ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup 2020: India To Begin Title Defence Against Sri Lanka

Outlook india

Outlook india

Author 2019-10-24 02:30:00


Holders India will begin their Under-19 World Cup defence with a clash against Sri Lanka on January 19 at the Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein, South Africa. (CRICKET NEWS)

Four-time champions India have been grouped alongside New Zealand, Sri Lanka and first-timers Japan in Group A in the tournament, starting on January 17.

India will take on Japan and New Zealand on January 21 and 24 respectively in the 16-team tournament, the final of which is scheduled for February 9.

ALSO READ: Yuvraj Singh, India's 2011 World Cup Hero, To Play In T10 League

Last edition's runner-up and three-time champion Australia will take on West Indies in Group B opening encounter that also features England and debutants Nigeria.

Group C will see Pakistan battle alongside Bangladesh, Zimbabwe and Scotland.

ALSO READ: Bangladesh Cricketers Call Off Strike, India Tour To Go Ahead As Planned

Hosts South Africa will play their opening match against Afghanistan on January 17. United Arab Emirates and Canada are the other teams in Group D.

The 13th edition of the tournament will see the second phase dividing the teams into Super League and Plate tournaments. The top two teams from each of the four groups will advance to the Super League while the remaining teams will feature in the Plate championship, the ICC.

The JB Marks Oval in Potchefstroom will hosts two Super League quarterfinals, both semi-finals and the final.

The top 11 full Members in the last edition in New Zealand and the five regional champions, who have qualified for the event, will also play warm-up matches from 12-15 January in Johannesburg and Pretoria.

Group A: India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Japan

Group B: Australia, England, West Indies, Nigeria

Group C: Pakistan, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, Scotland

Group D: Afghanistan, South Africa, UAE, Canada


Related Articles:-
Rohit Sharma Joins Virat Kohli And Gautam Gambhir In Elite ICC Rankings List
Cricket Australia Commits To Pay Parity For Women's World T20
ICC Readmits Zimbabwe, Nepal As Members; Increases Prize Money Of Women's Event
No More Boundary Countback: ICC Changes Controversial Super Over Rule In Wake Of World Cup Final Drama

Experience triple speed

Never miss the exciting moment of the game