India B lift Deodhar Trophy



Author 2019-11-05 13:53:00


Kedar Jadhav conjured up a well-calculated 86-run knock before left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem claimed four wickets as India B lifted the Deodhar Trophy with a comprehensive 51-run win over India C in the final, in Ranchi on Monday.

Electing to bat, India B recovered from early jolts to post a competitive 283 for 7, courtesy well-compiled fifties by Jadhav and Yashasvi Jaiswal (54) and a 33-ball 45 from Vijay Shankar down the order.

The bowlers led by Shahbaz Nadeem (4/32) and Mohammed Siraj (2/43) then joined the party as India B restricted India C to 231 for 9 to complete the victory.

India C lost skipper, 20-year-old Shubman Gill (1), who on Monday became the youngest captain to lead a side in the Deodhar Trophy final, surpassing Virat Kohli's 10-year-old record. After Gill's departure, Mayank Agarwal (28) and Priyam Garg (74) added 54 runs before the opener was sent back by Nadeem in the 12th over.

In the next over, Virat Singh, who had scored a superb 76 in the last match, was run out by Ruturaj Gaikwad and Axar Patel, while Suryakumar Yadav too couldn't reach double figures after being bowled by Nadeem in the 16th over.

Dinesh Karthik (3) also disappointed as his stay lasted only 10 balls with India C slumping to 77 for five in the 18th over.

Last match's hero Axar Patel then joined hands with Garg and shared 63 runs. However, Garg became a victim of Siraj after he tried to play a big shot only to see his stumps disturbed.

Once Patel walked back to the hut in the 35th over, it seemed all over for India C.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment