India enforce follow-on on South Africa for first time, become first-ever team to do so after 2008

The Statesman

The Statesman

Author 2019-10-13 15:01:00


India's captain Virat Kohli (C) celebrates with teammates after the wicket of South Africa captain Faf du Plessis (R) during the fourth day of play of the second Test cricket match between India and South Africa, at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune on October 13, 2019. (Photo by PUNIT PARANJPE / AFP)

Team India became the first-ever cricket team to enforce the follow-on on South Africa since 2008 after bundling the Proteas out for 275 in the first innings at the MCA International Stadium in Pune on the fourth day of the second Test. The enforcing of the follow-on was also the first-ever by any Indian team on South Africa.

Following a mammoth total of 601 in their first innings, the home team saw the bowlers put up a brilliant display to earn a lead of 326. On day three of the match, the likes of Ravichandran Ashwin and Mohammed Shami wreaked havoc to dismantle the top order of the visitors.

Skipper Faf du Plessis and wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock tried to bring some respite into the innings but could not carry the burden for long. However, tailenders Vernon Philander (44) and Keshab Maharaj (72) displayed a great example of resilience with the bat as they annoyed the Indian bowlers with a partnership of 109 runs for the ninth wicket.

After holding the fort for long, Maharaj fell short as Ashwin struck at the twilight of the day’s play to take the last two wickets in quick succession. With the last wicket of Kagiso Rabada, the umpires decided to call it a day and the players headed the dressing room’s way.

Kohli asked the tourists to bat again on a fourth-day wicket that is all set to open up some damps to assist the Indian. Also, Shami with his viciousness in the second innings would be a hard nut to crack for Du Plessis & Co. Taking in all these factors, the Indian team’s decision looks all more perfect.

While filing the story, the visitors are already in a great space of danger after losing half of their side in just 79 runs. With Dean Elgar, faf du Plessis and Quinton de Kock sent back to the pavilion, the rest of the wickets should be regulation for the Indian bowlers.

Ashwin has been the star of the pack so far for his figure of 2/13. Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja have taken a wicket each.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment