India vs Bangladesh: Mahmadullah handed T20I captaincy after Shakib Al Hasan ban

India Today

India Today

Author 2019-10-30 00:13:00


Bangladesh new captain Mahmudullah (File Photo: IANS)


  • Bangladesh to play 3 T20Is and 2 Tests in India
  • New captains named after ICC ban on Shakib Al Hasan
  • Mustafizur Rahman returns to the Test side led by Mominul Haque

Bangladesh Cricket Board on Tuesday named Mahmudullah as the captain of the senior national T20I side for India series after the International Cricket Council slapped a lengthy ban on Shakib Al Hasan.

Shakib Al Hasan was initially named as the captain for the 3-match T20I series, starting November 3 in New Delhi. Bangladesh cricket fraternity was jolted when Shakib was banned for 2 years (1 of them suspended) over his failure to report approaches of corrupt conduct.

In the absence of Shakib Al Hasan who is eligible to return to international action only from October 29, 2020, Bangladesh named Mominul Haque as their Test captain for the 2-Test series.

BCB chief Nazmul Hassan had earlier hinted that Shakib Al Hasan may be unavailable for the India tour and that he was disappointed with his attitude over missing practice matches over the weekend.

Notably, Shakib, who led Bangladesh's players strike against the BCB earlier this month, did not attend training sessions and a meeting with senior players for discussing strategy for the India tour.

Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam has replaced Shakib Al Hasan in the T20I squad for the India tour. Apart from the obvious change, Bangladesh have had to restructure their squads in the absence of big names, including Tamim Iqbal and Mohammad Saifuddin.

Bangladesh have handed a call-up to Mohammad Mithun in place of Tamim Iqbal in the squads while Imrul Kayes was brought back to add solidity to the batting in the Test squad.

On a brighter note, Bangladesh will have Mustafizur Rahman's services in both the T20I and the Test squads. The left-arm pacer will be returning to the Test set-up after their tour of New Zealand in March.

Notably, india and Bangladesh will play their first ever day-night Test on the tour as BCB agreed to BCCI's approach for the pink-ball Test in Kolkata from November 22.

Bangladesh T20I squad: Mahmudullah (c), Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Arafat Sunny, Al-Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Taijul Islam, Abu Hider

Bangladesh Test squad: Shadman Islam, Imrul Kayes, Saif Hassan, Mominul Haque (c), Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Abu Jayed, Ebadat Hossain


Experience triple speed

Never miss the exciting moment of the game