India vs South Africa: R Ashwin returns as Virat Kohli confirms spinners for 1st South Africa Test

Hindustan Times

Hindustan Times

Author 2019-10-01 15:36:04


Indian captain Virat Kohli confirmed that the hosts will play Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja as the two spinners in the first Test match against South Africa at Visakhapatnam. Kohli also said that Hanuma Vihari will be used as the third spinner which means that Kuldeep Yadav will have to wait for his chance. “Yes, Ashwin will start. Ashwin and Jadeja both will start here. Look Jaddu we felt was in a better zone as far as performing overseas and and what he has done in the past season for the team,” Kohli told reporters ahead of the first Test match.

ALSO READ: No place for Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha to keep wickets in first South Africa Test

“Wherever the conditions provide us to go with two spinners, Ash is always going to be a threat and in home conditions with his batting and the way he bowls as well he is always going to be starting with Jadeja. That was a no brainer for us,” he further added.

Ashwin will play his first Test match after he injured himself in the Adelaide Test last December. He is also not part of the limited-overs set-up and had to warm the benches in the longest format when Ravindra Jadeja was given the nod as the primary spinner in the just-concluded tour of West Indies.

India won the series against West Indies 2-0 and along the way, Kohli became the most successful Test captain. India will take on South Africa in the first Test, slated to begin from October 2.

India’s squad for three Tests: Virat Kohli (c), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment