Ireland Will Play Away Limited-Overs Series Against Windies In January 2020

Sportz Wiki

Sportz Wiki

Author 2019-10-02 04:29:20


Ireland will tour West Indies in early January 2020. In this tour, Ireland will play a three-match ODI series and three-match T20I series against Windies. Before the beginning of this international tour, Ireland will also play a 50-over warm-up game.

Windies and Ireland will play the ODI matches on 7th, 9th and 12th January respectively. After this ODI series, they will involve in the T20I series as they will play the T20Is on 15th, 18th and 19th January respectively.

The ODI series will be a crucial experience for Ireland before beginning their journey in the 2020–22 ICC Cricket World Cup Super League. They will also meet in this inaugural ICC Cricket World Cup Super League but in January 2022. In that time, Ireland will once again tour in West Indies.


Brief international cricket histories between Ireland and Windies

Ireland played their last international match against Windies before the . It was the ODI tri-series in Ireland in May 2019 where Windies and Bangladesh also participated along with the hosts. In the opening game of that series, Windies openers and put the . Ireland finished that tournament without winning a match while managed their historic first-ever multination international tournament victory.


Till the date, Ireland has played three ODIs and three T20Is against Windies on the Caribbean soil. Out of those matches, Ireland won only one T20I at Kingston on 19th February 2014.

In ODIs, Ireland have won one match against Windies out of their nine meetings (Windies won seven matches). Ireland’s only ODI victory against Windies was in the Group Stage game of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. Meanwhile, Ireland have played four T20Is against Windies where Windies have won twice and Ireland have won once.

Full schedule of Ireland tour of West Indies 2019/20

(One 50-over warm-up game)

4th January 2020: TBC vs Ireland – Three Ws Oval (Cave Hill)

(Three-match ODI series)

7th January 2020: 1st ODI – Kensington Oval (Bridgetown)

9th January 2020: 2nd ODI – Kensington Oval (Bridgetown)

12th January 2020: 3rd ODI – National Cricket Stadium (St. George’s)

(Three-match T20I series)

15th January 2020: 1st T20I – National Cricket Stadium (St. George’s)

18th January 2020: 2nd T20I – Warner Park (Basseterre)

19th January 2020: 3rd T20I – Warner Park (Basseterre)


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment