Karun Nair Named Karnataka’s Captain For Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019/20; Unmukt Chand To Lead Uttarakhand



Author 2019-10-31 19:08:48


Karun Nair will lead Karnataka in the first three matches of upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019/20. The right-handed batsman has been named as the captain of the side in absence of Manish Pandey and KL Rahul, who are a part of the T20I squad for the Bangladesh series.

The duo hasn’t been named in the squad for the first three matches but both the players are expected to join the team after the third T20I on November 10. Regular skipper Manish Pandey will take over the captaincy.

imgImage Courtesy: Getty Images

Nair, who has led Karnataka in past, also has an experience of leading Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) in IPL 2017. He led the team in the absence of Zaheer Khan, who missed few matches due to hamstring issue.

Roham Kadam, Devdutt Padikkal, Pavan Deshpande are other members in the side. Opener R Samarth is also a part of the team. Kadam played a pivotal role in Karnataka’s title triumph in the previous season as he ended the tournament as highest run-scorer with 536 runs at 53.60.

Experienced campaigner Abhimanyu Mithun will lead the pace attack alongside V Koushik, who had made his T20 debut in the previous season. Shreyas Gopal and Krishnappa Gowtham will perform all-round duties.

The defending champions face Uttarakhand in their opening game of the season. They will later take on Baroda, Andhra Pradesh and Services.

Squad: Team: Karun Nair (Captain), Rohan Kadam, Devdutt Padikkal, Pavan Deshpande, Anirudha Joshi, Pravin Dubey, Luvnith Sisodia (WK), Gowtham K, Suchith J, Mithun A, Koushik V, Shreyas Gopal, Prateek Jain, Nihal Ullal, Ravikumar Samarth.

Unmukt Chand to lead Uttarakhand –


Unmukt Chand will be leading Uttarakhand in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The former India U-19 World Cup-winning captain had switched his base from Delhi to Uttarakhand before the start of the season. He had also led the team in Vijay Hazare Trophy, where they finished at the second place in the points table with five wins from nine matches.

Uttarakhand will face defending champions Karnataka in their first match. They will later take on Services, Baroda, Goa and Andhra Pradesh.

Squad: Unmukt Chand (Captain), Tanmay Srivastava, Karanveer Kaushal, Avneesh Sudha, Arya Sethi, Vaibhav Pawar, Saurabh Pawar, Dikshanshu Negi, Aksh Mandwaal, Rahil Shah, Deepak Dhapola, Dhanraj Sharma, Pradeep Chamoli, Mayank Mishra, Himanshu Bisht.


Experience triple speed

Never miss the exciting moment of the game