Michael Vaughan Feels England Shouldn’t Use James Anderson And Stuart Broad In Together

Sportz Wiki

Sportz Wiki

Author 2019-09-19 11:25:23


James Anderson and Stuart Broad are one of the best bowling partners in Test cricket history. They are the most two Test wicket-takers for England. Anderson has taken 575 wickets in 149 Tests while Broad has managed to pick up 467 wickets in 132 Tests.


Anderson-Broad have played together in 114 Tests where they combinedly managed 866 wickets (Anderson 462 wickets and Broad 404 wickets). Their incredible bowling partnership has provided huge success for England in Test cricket.

At present, Anderson is the 37-year-old and Broad is the 33-year-old. Both these senior pacers are battling with some of their fitness issues too.

Talking about England’s possible next plan to prepare for the future, Michael Vaughan has adviced to break the famous Anderson-Broad partnership. Vaughan has called to utilise them alternatively.


The former England captain told BBC Radio 5, “I don’t think it is right both of them play now. It might be that Broad plays one series and Anderson plays one series.

“They are not going to like it, but they are at that stage of their careers where England are going to have to manage the combination very smartly.”

In the , James Anderson only managed to bowl four overs before getting ruled out from the remainder of that series due to calf injury.

Meanwhile, Stuart Broad was one of the successful bowlers in Ashes 2019. In fact, he was the most wicket-taker for England and second most wicket-taker in that series after managing 23 wickets.

Michael Vaughan also spoke about England’s next plan

The Ashes 2019 finally finished with the 2-2 result. However, the defending titleholders Australia retained the Ashes trophy.

Speaking about England’s next important plan, Vaughan has suggested preparing for the next Ashes (Ashes 2021/22).

Vaughan added, “I want to see a disciplined way of playing and the World Cup is in the bag now. The most important thing going forward is the Ashes in two years. It is the Test team that needs a real focus over two and a half years of real dedication and structure.”

England hosted the Ashes 2019. Since 2001, it was the first time when England failed to win their home Ashes title. Australia will host the next Ashes in the 2021/22 season. Since January 2011, England haven’t won any Test on the Australian soil. It was also the last time when England won the Ashes series in Australia.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment