MS Dhoni Will Lead Chennai Super Kings Next Year, Confirms N Srinivasan

Sportz Wiki

Sportz Wiki

Author 2019-09-16 11:28:01


While there is still uncertainty regarding MS Dhoni’s international future, it is confirmed that the former Indian skipper will be leading Chennai Super Kings in next year’s IPL. N Srinivasan, the owner of IPL franchise Chennai Super Kings, has confirmed that Dhoni will be captain of the team in the next season.

“I can say only one thing. Mahendra Singh Dhoni will only be the captain for the next IPL Chennai Super Kings next season,” he said.


MS Dhoni hasn’t played any competitive match since the World Cup 2019 semi-final against New Zealand. He took a break from the game to serve the Indian army.

Also Read:

Dhoni was exected to make a comeback for the home T20I series against South Africa but he wasn’t available for selection, chief selector MSK Prasad had confirmed.

Recently, Indian skipper Virat Kohli had backed MS Dhoni, which sort of confirms that the team management has left the decision on Dhoni to take a call on his career.


For now, Rishabh Pant has been entrusted with the job to keep wickets in white-ball cricket. He will be given an extended run but with the youngster yet to establish himself in the white ball cricket, Dhoni always remains in contention to make a comeback.

Also Read:

On the road to T20 World Cup, Rishabh is, of course, the top choice but Dhoni’s comeback can’t be ruled out altogether.

He was expected to take a call on his career after World Cup 2019. A few days back, the news of Dhoni’s retirement again made rounds but that turned out to be rumours.

India’s next white-ball assignment (after South Africa series) comes against West Indies at home and Dhoni, if he does not retire from international cricket, will be making his comeback.

The next year’s IPL is likely to be the last one for him before he retires from the T20 league. Under Dhoni, CSK have played 10 seasons of the league and have made it to the second round of the tournament on each every occasion. They have won the trophy thrice.

This year, CSK lost to Mumbai Indians by just one run – on the final delivery of the final.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment