Mzansi Super League: Jason Roy, Imran Tahir Unite For The Bay Giants



Author 2019-11-07 16:01:00


On November 8, the Mzansi Super League will begin with its second season and the season one runners-up Cape Town Blitz will be facing defending champions Jozi Stars in Match 1 of the tournament. The top South African T20 league began with much fanfare last year and the Jozi Stars won the season with most of their players topping the performance charts in the tournament. Another team to look forward to in the competition are the Nelson Mandela Bay Giants, who have players like Imran Tahir and Jason Roy. Tahir and Roy will be teaming up for the first time in a T20 tournament, having been prolific in limited-overs cricket for South Africa and England respectively.

A strong squad which will look to do better

Last year's MSLT20 had the Bay Giants ending the season at the fourth spot on the points table, missing the Eliminator match by a single point. Their captain Jon-Jon Smuts was their best batsman along with all-rounder Chris Morris being their best bowler. Going into the draft for the 2018/19 season, the team management managed to retain most of their core squad and announced the same on Twitter. Here is the full squad for the Nelson Mandela Bay Giants for the 2019/20 season.

  • Jon-Jon Smuts (captain)
  • Imran Tahir
  • Jason Roy
  • Chris Morris
  • Ben Dunk
  • Farhaan Behardien
  • Beuran Hendricks
  • Junior Dala
  • Heino Kuhn
  • Onke Nyaku
  • Matthew Breetzke
  • Marco Marais
  • Akhona Mnyaka
  • Grant Thomson
  • Nandre Burger

Will the Cape Town Blitz avenge their defeat?

On November 8, a repeat encounter of last season's final will kick off the Mzansi Super League as the Cape Town Blitz will face the dominant Jozi Stars. Last year's low scoring encounter was won by the Jozi Stars who chased down Cape Town's 113 in just 17.3 overs. Some of the stars who will be playing tomorrow's game are Quinton de Kock, Wahab Riaz, Liam Livingstone, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Chris Gayle, Rassie van der Dussen, and Daniel Christian.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment