Netherlands Win The 2019 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier After Beating PNG In The Final

Sportz Wiki

Sportz Wiki

Author 2019-11-03 17:30:36


The Netherlands won the 2019 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier after beating Papua New Guinea (PNG) in the final of the tournament on last Saturday (2nd November) night at Dubai. In that crucial final, the Netherlands won by seven wickets (with six balls remaining).

PNG captain Assad Vala decided to bat first after winning the toss. The Dutch bowlers dominated over the PNG batsmen as they were losing wickets in regular intervals. Only three PNG batsmen reached the double-digit marks. These batsmen were Lega Slaka (39), Sese Bau (29) and Jason Kila (27*). Kila scored 27 not out off just 11 balls (2 fours and 2 sixes). At the end of the 20 overs, PNG scored 128/8.


Among the Dutch bowlers, the right-arm pacer Brandon Glover managed the bowling figures of 4-0-24-3. Also, Roelof van der Merwe (2/15) and Timm van der Gugten (2/18) picked up two wickets each.

The Netherlands chased down the target in 19 overs

In reply, the Netherlands reached the target in 19 overs after losing three wickets. Opener Ben Cooper (41 runs) provided the important start in that chasing. Later, Colin Ackermann and safely guided the Netherlands to the victory. While Ackermann remained not out on 29 runs, Doeschate was not out on 34 runs.


Earlier on that day, Ireland claimed the third position in this tournament after beating Namibia by 27 runs. Ireland scored 135 (all-out) in 19.1 overs after winning the toss. Later, they bundled out Namibia for 108 runs (18.2 overs).

Apart from the Netherlands, PNG, Ireland and Namibia, Scotland and Oman have also qualified for the first round of the .

PNG, Ireland and Oman will fight in the first round of the next year’s T20 World Cup along with Sri Lanka in the Group A. Meanwhile, in the same round, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Namibia and Scotland will fight in the Group B. At the end of this round, the top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super 12.

Group AGroup B
Sri Lanka Bangladesh
Papua New Guinea Netherlands
Ireland Namibia
Oman Scotland

Australia will host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 from 18th October to 15th November 2020. The first round of this tournament will run from 18th October to 23rd October. Later, the Super 12 stage will be played between 24th October and 8th November.

The two semi-finals of this tournament will be played on 11th and 12th November. In the end, both the winners from the semi-finals will face each other in the final on 15th November.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment