New Zealand Vs England T20Is: Top 5 T20I Matches In The Past



Author 2019-10-30 16:41:00


The English cricket team is currently touring New Zealand in a series that will comprise of two Test matches and five T20 Internationals. The first T20 International will be played on Thursday, November 1 at Christchurch. On this occasion, let us take a look at five of the best T20I competitions between the two nations.

England tour of New Zealand 2012-2013

After New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum won the toss and chose to field first, the English batsman put forward a consistent effort to get the team to 214 in their 20 overs, led by Eoin Morgan's 46 and Luke Wright's 42. New Zealand fell 40 runs short of their target and the only batsman who stood out for them was Martin Guptill. Stuart Broad outperformed for England by getting four vital wickets.

Trans-Tasman Twenty20 Tri-series 2017-2018

Kane Williamson won the toss and sent the Englishmen into bat. Led by captain Morgan's unbeaten 80, England put up a very formidable score of 194 on the board. Led by Martin Guptill's 62 and Colin Munro's 57, New Zealand came very close to beating England as their innings ended agonizingly on 192.

ICC World T20 2007

England skipper Paul Collingwood won the toss and elected to field first. Led by Craig McMillan's 57 in the middle order, the Black Caps managed to put up a defendable total of 164 at Durban. England opener Darren Maddy made every effort to get his team across the line with the 50 runs he scored. Luke Wright came in after the middle order fell and tried to give the English camp some hope. England fell short by 5 runs.

Trans-Tasman Twenty20 Tri-series 2017-2018

England captain Jos Buttler won the toss and elected to field. New Zealand opener Martin Guptill and captain Kane Williamson took New Zealand to a very competitive score of 196. In return, England led with the likes of Dawid Malan and Alex Hales but could only manage 184 runs before running out of their 20 overs. Trent Boult, Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi ended their spells with two wickets each.

New Zealand tour of England 2013

Eoin Morgan won the toss and chose to field first. Led by Hamish Rutherford's 62 and Brendon McCullum's 68, NZ reached a very formidable score of 201. England top-order batsmen Michael Lumb, Alex Hales, and Luke Wright contributed with the bat as England looked to cruise to the target. However, after the 14th over, New Zealand just managed to contain the English batters as they fell short of their target by 5 runs only.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment