Noamundi Run-a-thon promotes greener tomorrow

The Pioneer

The Pioneer

Author 2019-10-21 03:03:05

The third edition of Noamundi Run-a-thon, the signature event of Tata Steel’s Ore Mines & Quarries Division (OMQ Division) witnessed 5200 runners from across the nation running for the cause of environment, on Sunday at Sports Complex, Noamundi.

The event was flagged off by Arun Misra, Vice President (Raw Materials), Tata Steel, Uttam Singh, Vice President (Iron Making), Tata Steel, Mr Hanumant Singh Rawat, Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIGP), Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), Dr Prem Chand, Commandant, CRPF, Atul Bhatnagar, General Manager (OMQ), Tata Steel and Kulvin Suri, Chief, Corporate Communications, India & SEA, Tata Steel.

In line with this year’s theme ‘Run for a Greener Tomorrow’, messaging in the Sports Complex and across the running track was done on eco-friendly biofabric material.The Run-a-thon was held in 10 KM and 7 KM categories for men and women, 5 KM run for boys and girls under the age of 16 years from schools and colleges and 2 KM run for Persons with Disabilities (PWDs).

Speaking on the occasion, Misra said, “I am delighted to see the enthusiasm and such a huge participation in the third edition of Noamundi Run-a-thon. Sports & sustainability are integral part of Tata Steel and this run has established a strong connect with the community.

The theme of this edition of the Run-a-thon is in line with our commitment towards sustainable mining and a greener tomorrow. This event has also given an opportunity to the young running talent of this region to compete with best in the field.” The winner of 10 KM (Men) finished the race in 30.15 minutes whereas the winner of 10 KM (Women) finished the race in 37.30 minutes. The winner of 7 KM (Men) finished the race in 21.53 minutes whereas the winner of 7 KM (Women) finished the race in 25.18 minutes. The winner of 5 KM (Boys) finished the race in 16.09 minutes whereas the winner of 5 KM (Girls) finished the race in 19.40 minutes. A separate award for the Persons with Disability category was also distributed to all the runners in this category.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment