Sachin Tendulkar Congratulates BCCI President-elect Sourav Ganguly



Author 2019-10-16 02:05:00


Master blaster Sachin Tendulkar on Tuesday congratulated Sourav Ganguly as he is all set to become Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president. The former batsmen took to Twitter and extended his best wishes 'to the new team that will take charge',

Tendulkar and Ganguly have had an opening partnership record of 6,362 runs in 129 matches, which includes 20-century partnerships and 22 fifty runs stand. The former cricketers have often been termed as the legendary opening pair. Former Indian cricketers VVS Laxman, Mohammad Kaif and Virendra Sehwag had also congratulated BCCI President-elect Sourav Ganguly for his new role and said that there was no doubt that the Indian cricket would prosper under his leadership.

Saurav filed his nomination for the post on Monday and will be elected unanimously for the position. Ganguly though has time only till July 2020 when his term ends due to mandatory cooling-off period according to the new rules set down by the Supreme Court. As per the rules, an administrator can only serve for six years in a row. Ganguly has been holding various positions in the CAB for the last five years.

New office bearers of the BCCI

For the post of vice-president, Mahim Verma (Cricket Association of Uttarakhand) has put forward his name, while for the post of Joint-Secretary Jayesh George (Kerela Cricket Association) has filed nomination. Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association's Arun Singh Dhumal, brother of central minister Anurag Thakur, has filed nomination for the post of Treasurer.
Prabhat Singh Bhatia (Chhattisgarh State Cricket Sangh) has put forward his name for the post of Councillor while Brijesh Parsuram Patel (Karnataka State Cricket Association) and M. Khairul Jamal Maujmdar (Cricket Association of Mizoram) have filed nomination for the post of Governing Council Member.

(With ANI Inputs)


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment