Shubman named captain of India C

The Tribune

The Tribune

Author 2019-10-25 09:56:00


New Delhi, October 24

Hanuma Vihari, Parthiv Patel and Shubman Gill were today named captains of India A, India B and India C teams, respectively, for this year’s Deodhar Trophy.

The teams were picked during the selection committee in Mumbai.

The Deodhar Trophy will be played at Ranchi from October 31 to November 4.

The India A team will also feature experienced off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan and Jaydev Unadkat among others.

Out-of-favour India all-rounders Kedar Jadhav and Vijay Shankar feature in the India B squad.

In-form Test opener Mayank Agarwal and senior wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik are part of the India C squad. — PTI

Karnataka take on TN in Hazare final

Bengaluru: The spotlight will be on India players Mayank Agarwal, R Ashwin and KL Rahul when the evenly-matched Karnataka and Tamil Nadu lock horns in the title clash of the Vijay Hazare Trophy here tomorrow. The Manish Pandey-led Karnataka were convincing in their victories in the knockout games but Tamil Nadu, who dominated the league phase, were a tad lucky as the rain rule allowed them to go past Punjab in the quarterfinals before young M Shahrukh Khan guided them home in the semifinal against Gujarat. The two sides are equally matched, with a formidable batting line-up and a set of quality bowlers, though the presence of R Ashwin gives the TN attack more experience and variety. Tomorrow’s clash will be decided by how the two bowling attacks perform given that both teams have a lot of depth in batting. PTI

India to begin U-19 WC title defence against SL

Dubai: Holders India will begin their U-19 World Cup defence with a clash against Sri Lanka on January 19 in Bloemfontein, South Africa. Four-time champions India have been grouped alongside New Zealand, Sri Lanka and first-timers Japan in Group A in the tournament, starting on January 17. India will take on Japan and New Zealand on January 21 and 24, respectively, in the 16-team tournament, the final of which is scheduled for February 9. Last edition’s runners-up and three-time champion Australia will take on West Indies in Group B opening encounter that also features England and debutants Nigeria. Group C will see Pakistan battle alongside Bangladesh, Zimbabwe and Scotland. Hosts South Africa will play their opening match against Afghanistan on January 17. UAE and Canada are the other teams in Group D. The 13th edition of the tournament will see the second phase dividing the teams into Super League and Plate tournaments. The top two teams from each of the four groups will advance to the Super League. PTI


Experience triple speed

Never miss the exciting moment of the game