Sourav Ganguly Formally Elected As 39th BCCI President



Author 2019-10-23 17:08:48

Former India captain Sourav Ganguly was elected unopposed as the 39th president of BCCI at the apex body's AGM in Mumbai on Wednesday. Union Home Minister Amit Shah's son Jay Shah takes over as new BCCI secretary as Supreme Court-appointed CoA's 33-month tenure comes to an end.

imgThird party image reference

ormer India captain Sourav Ganguly has been formally elected unopposed as the new Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president. Ganguly formally took over as the new boss at the apex body's Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Mumbai on Wednesday.

Sourav Ganguly arrived at the BCCI headquarters in Mumbai on Wednesday for the AGM. Notably, Ganguly filed his nomination for the role of BCCI president after eleventh-hour drama earlier this month. He has been elected unopposed as the president of richest body in world cricket.

Ganguly is likely to serve only 9 months as BCCI president as the "Cooling Off" period clause in the new BCCI constitution makes it mandatory for board officials to step down after 6 years in office. Ganguly, who played 113 Tests and 311 one-day internationals and led India to 21 Test wins, has already been an administrator for his home state association, Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB).

imgThird party image reference

Sourav Ganguy is only the 2nd India cricketer after Maharaja of Vizianagaram to don the role of BCCI president. His nomination was validated by BCCI's electoral officer N Gopalaswami last week.

Along with Sourav Ganguly, Union Home Minister Amit Shah's son, Jay Shah was chosen unanimously as the BCCI secretary.

Arun Singh Dhumal, brother of former BCCI president Anurag Thakur was made the new BCCI treasurer and Kerala Cricket Association president Jayesh George was elected as the joint secretary. Mahim Verma of Uttarakhand became the new vice-president.

imgThird party image reference

Experience triple speed

Never miss the exciting moment of the game