Sourav Ganguly set to become new BCCI President, Amit Shah’s son Jay Shah new secretary and Anurag Thakur’s brother as treasurer

Jantaka Reporter

Jantaka Reporter

Author 2019-10-14 10:51:58

In a dramatic development on Saturday evening in Mumbai, former India captain Sourav Ganguly reportedly became the consensus candidate to become the next BCCI President. Also emerging unopposed were Jay Shah, son of Home Minister Amit Shah, as the next secretary and Arun Singh Dhumal, brother of Union Minister Anurag Thakur, as new treasurer.


The last date for nomination is today (14 October) for 23 October elections, but the new office-bearers are set to be appointed in their roles unopposed. 47-year-old Ganguly wasn’t the first choice for the top BCCI role. Brajesh Patel, who was being backed by former BCCI president N. Srinivasan, was being lobbied to become the next president.

However, according to Kolkata-based The Telegraph, Anurag Thakur proposed Ganguly’s name as a consensus candidate. The paper added that Thakur was sent to Mumbai by an influential union minister in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s government to oversee the nomination process.

If Sourav, who currently heads the Cricket Association of Bengal, officially confirms the unanimous decision, he will become the first former Indian captain to assume the office of the BCCI president in its 91-year history.

[ALSO READ: After Virender Sehwag, now Sourav Ganguly lashes out at Pakistani PM Imran Khan for UN speech slamming RSS]

A report by news agency PTI said that Patel had emerged Presidential candidate when Ganguly remained non-committal on campaigning for the BJP in the 2021 state assembly elections. However, when most of the state units opposed the ‘understanding’, things changed dramatically, added the PTI report.

Ganguly was in the news recently after he lashed out at Pakistani Prime Minister Imran Khan for his United Nations speech.

Ganguly and other office-bearers being appointed in their roles this month will effectively end the 33-month term of the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators.

In another development, forme India coach Anhsuman Gaekwad defeated Kirti Azad to be elected as a male ICA representative on BCCI’s nine-member Apex Council. Shanta Rangaswamy was earlier elected unopposed as female ICA representative.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment