Sourav Ganguly Set to Become the New BCCI President, From Virender Sehwag to VVS Laxman, Cricket Fraternity Showers Heartfelt Wishes on 'Dada'



Author 2019-10-15 17:05:48


Former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly is all set to be elected as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) President. The Bengal stalwart will take office from October 23and is looking forward to start his new innings. Ganguly is one of the most popular names in Indian cricket as the former has led from the front and in order to make India a force to reckon with in the cricketing world. Addressed as Dada by his fans, the former southpaw got congratulatory messages from cricket fraternity across the nation. Many cricketers played under the leadership of Ganguly, took on Twitter to shower their wished on the former. Ganguly was the lone candidate applying for the post and will be elected unopposed. Sourav Ganguly, New BCCI President, Posts Picture With Jay Shah and Anurag Thakur, Hopes to Work Well With The 'New Team'.

Apart from the Bengal star, Brijesh Patel became the IPL Chairman, Jay Shah (Home Minister Amit Shah’s son) got the post of BCCI secretary and Arun Dhumal was elected as the board's treasurer. The former batsman is all set to start his new innings and is receiving wishes from cricketers all around the country. In his playing days, Ganguly was considered as a selfless captain who thought for the team. Eventually, the cricketer gained a lot of love and respect from the teammates. A decade after his retirement, the southpaw will lead Indian cricket again but in a different role. Meanwhile, let’s look at some congratulatory wishes of cricketers for Saurav Ganguly’s new innings.

Virender Sehwag wishes Ganguly!!

VVS Laxman Expresses his Delight!!

Mohammad Kaif Congratulates 'His' Captain

Ganguly is also the president of the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) for five years and will continue at the post till September 2020. The 47-year old is just the second Indian cricketer to be elected as BCCI chief after Maharaja of Vizianagaram.  However, Former Indian captain Sunil Gavaskar and Shivlal Yadav were named as the interim BCCI presidents in 2014. Ganguly, who thrived as a captain and batsman, will now have the charge to take the entire Indian cricket forward and the cricket lovers are certainly having high hopes from the former star.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment