Sri Lanka Complete 3-0 Whitewash Over Pakistan With 13-Run Victory in Final T20I

News 18

News 18

Author 2019-10-10 02:10:49

img Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan by 13 runs to win the third and final Twenty20 international in Lahore on Wednesday, routing the world number one team 3-0 in the series.

Sri Lanka scored 147-7 with debutant Oshada Fernando scoring a brilliant 48-ball 78 not out with three sixes and eight boundaries. For Pakistan, paceman Mohammad Amir took 3-27.

Pakistan were then undone by leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga who took 3-21 as they managed 134-6 in 20 overs.

Batting first, Sri Lanka found themselves struggling at 58/4, as none of Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Bhanuka Rajapaksa or Angelo Perera could cross the score of 13. In walked in Oshada Fernando at number five, and with captain Dasun Shanaka giving him company at the other end, he fearlessly displayed an array of shots, laying into the likes of Mohammad Amir and Shadab Khan.

Fernando carried his bat through the innings, despite Shanaka being dismissed in the 18th over for 12 off 25 balls. His knock included eight fours and three sixes, and helped Sri Lanka to a respectable total of 147/7 in their 20 overs.

The Sri Lankan defence started perfectly, Kasun Rajitha shaping one back in to bowl Fakhar Zaman, and the bowlers did not take their foot off the gas from that point on. Rajitha continued to star early on, conceding just eight runs from his first three overs, but it was Wanindu Hasaranga who emerged with the pick of the figures.

Hasaranga struck multiple times in quick succession, when he removed Asif Ali and Sarfaraz Ahmed in the space of an over as Pakistan slid from 94/2 with Haris Sohail making a composed 50, to 111/6, a collapse of four wickets in the space of just 17 runs.

A late flurry from Iftikhar Ahmed and Wahab Riaz would prove to come too late in the day, as Sri Lanka emerged victors by 11 runs, Pakistan ending their innings on 134/6. Wanindu Hasaranga finished with excellent figures of 4-0-21-3, with Lahiru Kumara picking up two wickets and Kasun Rajitha picking up one wicket.

(With AFP inputs)


Experience triple speed

Never miss the exciting moment of the game