Surat to host Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 elite league matches

The Times of India

The Times of India

Author 2019-11-07 11:35:00

imgSURAT: Surat will play host to Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament elite group’s 28 matches from November 8 to 20. After it successfully hosted the India -South Africa Women’s T20 series, Surat District Cricket Association (SDCA) will now host eight top states who will play these matches in the Lalbhai Contractor stadium and CB Patel ground.

Forty state teams will participate in the tournament from which the winners and runners up in each group will progress further to play league state games against each other. All the 28 elite group matches will be played in the Diamond City.

The eight teams in this group include host Gujarat, Delhi, Saurashtra, Jharkhand , Odisha , Jammu and Kashmir, Sikkim and Nagaland. Top Indian players like Shikar Dhavan, Ishan Kishan, Parthiv Patel, Piyush Chawala, Shahbaz Nadeem, Axar Patel, Varun Arun, Saurabh Tiwari, Jaydev Unadkat, Nitish Rana, Dhamendra Jadeja, Sheldon Jackson, Virat Singh, and Priyank Panchal who regularly represent their IPL teams. Many of the players to participate in this tournament have also donned India Blazers.

Local lads Bhargav Merai, Hardik Patel and Chirag Gandhi will represent Gujarat team and rub shoulders with top India players.

Two matches will be played in a day with one starting at 11 am and ending at 2 pm, and the second one starting at 2 pm and ending at 5pm. A team of national selectors will also be present in the city during the tournament which will remain free for local people as there are no entry tickets to the stadiums.


Experience triple speed

Never miss the exciting moment of the game