The Hundred Introduces Teams, First Players And Other Crucial Details

Sportz Wiki

Sportz Wiki

Author 2019-10-05 04:16:11


On last Thursday (3rd October), the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has introduced eight teams for the first edition of The Hundred tournament. Besides that, the ECB has also revealed two women players and three men players of each team. Also, the ECB has clarified some crucial rules of this tournament.

The Hundred is a new initiative from the ECB. It will be a professional 100-ball cricket tournament in England and Wales that will begin in July 2020. Like the T20 leagues, it will be also city-based franchise league where each franchise will have one men’s and one women’s team.

However, it will be the white-ball competition with 100 balls per innings. While a bowler can deliver either five or ten consecutive deliveries, the ends will change after every 10 balls. Taking about the other different rules, every bowler can maximum bowl 20 balls in each innings and each innings will have a 25-ball powerplay at the beginning.

The Hundreds 2020 will have eight teams

On Thursday, the ECB has also introduced the eight teams for the inaugural season. Also, the ECB has announced the first five cricketers of each franchise. Among these players, two are England women’s central contracted picks, one is England men’s red-ball contract pick and the other two players are Local icons.


Here are the details of each team after the first round of the players’ selection

TeamEngland women’s central contracted picksEngland men’s red-ball contract pickLocal icons
Birmingham PhoenixAmy Jones, Kirstie GordonChris WoakesMoeen Ali, Pat Brown
London SpiritHeather Knight, Freya DaviesRory BurnsEoin Morgan, Dan Lawrence
Manchester OriginalsKate Cross, Sophie EcclestoneJos ButtlerSaqib Mahmood, Matt Parkinson
Northern SuperchargersLauren Winfield, Linsey SmithBen StokesAdil Rashid, David Willey
Oval InvinciblesLaura Marsh, Fran WilsonSam CurranJason Roy, Tom Curran
Southern BraveAnya Shrubsole, Danni WyattJofra ArcherJames Vince, Chris Jordan
Trent RocketsNat Sciver, Katherine BruntJoe RootAlex Hales, Harry Gurney
Welsh Fire Katie George Bryony SmithJonny BairstowTom Banton, Colin Ingram

Each team will have 15 players, including the maximum three cricketers can be from overseas. Every franchise can almost fill up the other remaining spots during the players’ draft round. On 20th October 2019, the ECB will organise this players’ draft.

Many international stars have already joined in the draft list. According to the ICC reports, , , Aaron Finch, Kane Williamson, Kieron Pollard, Rashid Khan, , , Chris Gayle, , Faf du Plessis, Kagiso Rabada, Babar Azam, and etc are in the draft list.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment