U19 Asia Cup: India beat Bangladesh in low-scoring thrilling final to win the 2019 title

You Cricket

You Cricket

Author 2019-09-15 18:15:19


The Indian team captured the title for the seventh time by defeating Bangladesh by five runs in the thrilling U19 Asia Cup finals which was played at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Batting first, the Indian team was all out for just 106 runs, but in reply Bangladesh's team collapsed for 101 runs and lost the best chance to win the title. Atharva Ankolekar (5/28) was adjudged Man of the Match for his excellent bowling.


Earlier, the Indian team won the toss and decided to bat first, but they had a poor start and lost three wickets for 8 runs. Captain Dhruv Jurel tried to handle the team by playing an innings of 33 runs, but the Bangladesh bowlers performed brilliantly.

Karan Lal played an innings of 37 runs to somehow take the team beyond 100. For Bangladesh, Shamim Hosain and Mrittunjay Choudhary took the most three wickets each.


In reply, the Bangladesh also had a poor start in response to the target of 107 runs and by the score of 16, they lost four wickets. Bangladesh got their fifth blow at the score of 40 and sixth at the score of 51.


Akbar Ali scored 23 & Mrittunjay Chaudhary scored 21 runs, but the two were dismissed on a score of 78 to give Bangladesh a big blow. Tanzeem Hassan (12) and Rakibul Hassan (11) took the team to the 100, but Atharva Ankolekar took the Indian team to victory with two wickets in the last two balls of the 33rd over.


Apart from Atharva's five wickets, Akash Singh took three wickets. India had earlier won U19 Asia cup titles in 1989, 2003, 2014, 2016 and 2018, while in 2012 the Indian team was the joint winner with Pakistan.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment