Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019/20: Dinesh Karthik Will Lead Tamil Nadu; Vijay Shankar Will Play Vice-Captain Role

Sportz Wiki

Sportz Wiki

Author 2019-09-15 16:22:03


Vijay Hazare Trophy is the domestic List A format tournament in India. The new season will run from 24th September to 10th October 2019. Tamil Nadu are the most successful side in the Vijay Hazare Trophy history as they have won it for the five times.

However, in the last season, Vijay Shankar-led Tamil Nadu failed to qualify for the knockout stages. In their Group C contest, Tamil Nadu finished in the fifth position with 20 points in nine matches (five victories and four defeats).

Dinesh Karthik has been selected as captain for Tamil Nadu

On Saturday (14th September), Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) has announced the 16-member probables squad for the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy. Dinesh Karthik will lead this side who last played for India during the semifinal of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.


Vijay Shankar will be the vice-captain of this team. Under his captaincy, Tamil Nadu won their last Vijay Hazare Trophy in 2016/17 season. He was also in India’s 15-member squad during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. But he played only three matches in that tournament before an injury forced him to face the rule out.


The international cricket players , and are also in this squad.

K Vignesh, T Natarajan, M Mohammed, Abhishek Tanwar and J Kousik will handle the pace-bowling attack.

In the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018/19, Tamil Nadu is in Group C along with nine other teams. These teams are Bengal, Bihar, Gujarat, Jammu & Kashmir, Madhya Pradesh, Railways, Rajasthan, Sevices and Tripura. Tamil Nadu will start their journey on 24th September 2019 with the match against Rajasthan.

Full squad: Dinesh Karthik (captain), Vijay Shankar (vice-captain), Abhinav Mukund, Murali Vijay, B Aparajith, Murugan Ashwin, MS Washington Sundar, R Sai Kishore, N Jagadeesan, T Natarajan, K Vignesh, M Mohammed, M Siddharth, Abhishek Tanwar, C Hari Nishaanth, J Kousik.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment