Vijay Hazare Trophy: Yashasvi Jaiswal 122 helps Mumbai beat Kerala by 8 wickets

India Today

India Today

Author 2019-10-15 00:48:00


Shardul Thakur (3/40) helped Mumbai skittle Kerala for 199 on Monday (Getty Images)


  • Dhawal Kulkarni and Shardul Thakur picked 3 wickets each for Mumbai
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal starred with a scintillating knock of 122
  • Aditya Tare also hit 67 as Mumbai bagged the full 4 points

Mumbai dished out a clinical performance to maul Kerala by eight wickets in their Elite Group A match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy here on Monday.

Despite this win in the 50-over tournament, Mumbai's chances of making the play-offs appear bleak as they are at the sixth position in the Group.

After bundling Kerala out for a modest 199, courtesy three wickets each by pacers Dhawal Kulkarni (3/54) and Shardul Thakur (3/40), Mumbai comfortably chased the target with 11.4 overs to spare with young prodigy Yashasvi Jaiswal (122) slamming a century.

For Kerala, only captain Robin Uthappa (43) and tailender Nidheesh (40) could make some impact with the bat.

Mumbai bowlers did not allow the opposition batsmen to settle and took wickets at regular intervals at the Just Cricket ground.

The chase was a walk in the park for Mumbai as their openers Jaiswal and Aditya Tare (67) put on 195 runs for the first wicket to guide the team to an easy victory.

Jaiswal hammered 14 fours and three sixes, while Tare hit five boundaries and a lone six as the duo took the game away from the opposition. Kerala got two wickets, but a win remained a mere formality that Mumbai completed in 38.2 overs.

In a separate match curtailed due to a wet outfield, Chhattisgarh defeated Hyderabad by 24 runs, while Saurashtra beat Goa by five wickets in another shortened encounter.

Brief scores: Kerala 199 all out (Robin Uthappa 43, Nidheesh 40; Shardul Thakur 3/40) lost to Mumbai 202 for 2 in (Yashavi Jaiswal 122, Aditya Tare 67; Vishnu Vinod 2-16) by 8 wickets. Mumbai: 4 points, Kerala 0 points.

Chhattisgarh 171 for 5 (Ashutosh Singh 66, Shashank Singh 31 not out; C V Milind 2-46) beat Hyderabad 147 in 19.5 overs (Tilak Verma 41, B Sandeep 39; Veer Pratap Singh 4-23) by 24 runs. Chhattisgarh 4 points, Hyderabad 0 points.

Goa 154 for 9 (Vaibhav Govekar 50, CM Gautam 46; Jaydev Unadkat 2-38) lost to Saurashtra 157 for 5 (Prerak Mankad 41 not out, Samarth Vyas 34; Lakshay Garg 2-39) by five wickets. Saurashtra 4 points, Goa 0 points.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment