WATCH: 'Will keep check on cameras', Rohit Sharma addresses TV umpire's 'Not Out' gaffe on big screen
India's stand-in captain Rohit Sharma had a bitter-sweet outing as the leader of the Men In Blue on Thursday when India locked horns with Bangladesh in the penultimate clash of the three-match T20I series at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot. Making a record 100th appearance for Team India in the shortest format of the game, Rohit seemingly had a busy day at the office after the skipper won the toss and asked the visitors to have a bat first in Rajkot.
Accepting India's invitation to have a bat first, the opening duo of the Bangla Tigers - Soumya Sarkar and Liton Das - took the Indian pace attack to the cleaners in the first five overs. India were desperate for a breakthrough which almost arrived in Yuzvendra Chahal's over. Rishabh Pant was given a golden opportunity to stump Das after the latter was beaten all ends while coming down the track to slog the Indian spinner.
Pant's shortcomings behind the stumps exposed
Though Pant managed to remove the bails in a flash, the celebration was cut short by the third umpire. Pant in the replay had evidently collected to the ball ahead of the stumps which handed a lifeline to Das. Thus, a no-ball was called and Das managed to capitalise on the free-hit with a boundary. Courtesy Pant's school-boy error, Bangladesh raced to 54/0 in the first six overs. After missing out the chance to remove Das in Chahal's over, India were given another opportunity in Washington Sundar's over.
Rohit dropping a dolly of a catch
The opener made a mess of his slog sweep and gave away a top edge over the leg-side in the seventh over. At least three Indian players including Rohit hovered around the ball and one of them was expected to complete the dismissal by taking the catch. Rather than Pant - a much safer option with gloves - it was the skipper who anticipated the dismissal only to drop a dolly of a catch.
Bring back MS Dhoni? Rishabh Pant's brain-fade invites Twitterati to troll wicket-keeper for stumping blunder
Das' two astonishing escapes played no major role further as Pant managed to redeem himself in the 7th over where the Tigers' opener was run out by the Indian wicketkeeper. Pant's disaster of a start behind the stumps was uplifted a bit when the stumper managed to complete the dismissal of Soumya Sarkar in the 13th over. Sarkar was well out of the crease and Pant had a decent chance to right his previous wrongs. A slight hesitation but the young wicket-keeper precisely removed the bails and was optimistic that the third umpire will confirm the same, once he completes the ritual of replays.
Third umpire call Out or Notout. pic.twitter.com/L2FHCOF7Jx— Rejuan Sabbir (@rejuanOfficial) November 7, 2019
When TV umpire pressed the wrong button!
Though Pant was not guilty this time, the third umpire accidentally pressed the wrong button which triggered a huge uproar inside the jampacked stadium. Skipper Rohit was absolutely livid with match official when the giant screen had said a big NOT OUT! He lost his cool and ridiculed the umpire with a series of unkind jibes which was caught on screen. However, the umpires were quick to make amends and informed Sarkar that he was out amid the big screen goof up.
Rohit Sharma masterclass helps India thrash Bangladesh by eight wickets in 2nd T20I
Rishabh Pant gives fitting reply to tv umpire— Munna (@vaseem9999) November 7, 2019
Rohit to third umpire when he pressed the "not out" button instead of out.#RohitSharma#INDvBAN#RishabhPant#Dhonipic.twitter.com/ygcLrhTFG6— Kartik (@ImRealKartik) November 7, 2019
Third umpire https://t.co/ckKMZEdhdq— Monica (@monitwts) November 7, 2019
'Quite an emotional guy'
Rohit was all smiles after the correct verdict and even minced some words to the match umpire on the pitch. The Indian skipper was asked about his reaction in the post-match ceremony where he was honoured with the Man of the Match honour. "I'm quite an emotional guy on the field. Some of the decisions in the previous and some of the on-field moments today, we were a bit sloppy. Ultimately aim is to get the job done, and sometimes we display a lot of emotions. Next time I'll check where the camera is," the stand-in skipper said in the post-match presentation.