Watch: Virat Kohli, Ravi Shastri felicitate veteran curator Daljit Singh

India Today

India Today

Author 2019-09-18 22:34:00


Virat Kohli, Ravi Shastri felicitate veteran curator Daljit Singh (Source: Twitter)

Captain Virat Kohli and head coach Ravi Shastri on Wednesday felicitated recently-retired curator Daljit Singh ahead of the second T20 International between India and South Africa here.

The 77-year-old had retired as BCCI's chief curator earlier this month after 22 years of service to Indian cricket. He also oversaw pitch preparations for the game on Wednesday.

Kohli and Shastri presented a memento to Daljit for his long service to Indian cricket.

Daljit is also a former first-class cricketer, having played 87 games for Punjab.

Former PCA and BCCI president I S Bindra handpicked him to produce the fastest pitch in India at Mohali back in 1993 and in another four years, Daljit became part of BCCI's first pitch committee in 1997.

"Needless to say Indian cricket has come a long way including the job of a curator. Back in the day groundsmen were merely seen as 'maalis' who didn't even get paid but now we have a system in place which produces certified curators (since 2012).

"Like umpires, curators are also posted now," he said, referring to BCCI's four-level certification course which groundsmen have to pass to become curators.

Kohli won the toss at the PCA Stadium and decided to bowl first against South Africa.

Speaking at the toss, Kohli said: "We are gonna bowl first. It's very difficult to defend and it's a great chasing ground. It's a typical Mohali wicket. The pitch is gonna play well too. (On his knock against Australia in the T20 World Cup 2016) Yes I remember it fondly. That is one of the best matches I have been part of. This ground has given me and the team great memories. We have been trying out youngsters. KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Rahul Chahar and Khaleel Ahmed miss out."

Playing XI: India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

South Africa: Quinton de Kock(w/c), Reeza Hendricks, Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Bjorn Fortuin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment