When long-haired Dhoni made history by defeating Pakistan, India celebrated Diwali

Skc news

Skc news

Author 2019-09-25 00:00:41

Friends, please press the yellow button above for more information.

Hello friends In 2007, two World Cups were played. One was the ODI World Cup and the other was the ICC T20 World Cup. The ODI World Cup was played on the West Indies soil, which Australia won. At the same time, the second World Cup was played on the soil of South Africa after about three months which was won by Team India. The purpose of the ICC to have two World Cups in a year was only that it had allegedly suffered a lot in the One Day World Cup.

imggoogle image

The ICC also suffered because many of the big teams like India and Pakistan were eliminated in the league phase. In such a situation, the biggest institution of cricket was hit by TRP. If the TRP did not come then the advertisements did not come and if the advertisements did not come then there was no earning. This was the reason that a tournament called ICC World T20 was started which became known as T20 World Cup. This tournament of 20-20 overs started for the first time.

imggoogle image

History created 12 years ago

Just 12 years before today, on 24 September 2007, the final match of the ICC T20 World Cup was played between India and its arch-rivals Pakistan at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. In this match, Team India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and decided to bat first. The Indian team landed without Virender Sehwag. Sehwag was replaced by Yusuf Pathan as he was injured. This proved to be a major weakness.

Playing first, the Indian team scored 157 runs losing 5 wickets in 20 overs, in which Gautam Gambhir played a brilliant innings of 75 runs with the help of 8 fours and 2 sixes in 54 balls. Apart from Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma scored 30 runs in 16 balls with the help of 2 fours and a six. At the same time, Yusuf Pathan scored 15 runs and Yuvraj Singh was dismissed for 14 runs. Dhoni too could not do much and became clean bowled by Umar Gul's ball by scoring just 6 runs in 10 balls.

imggoogle image

Thrill of the last over

Pakistan had to score 13 runs in 6 balls of the last over to win. Pakistan had just one wicket and Misbah-ul-Haq was at the crease. Indian captain MS Dhoni handed the ball to Joginder Sharma, who had taken a wicket for 13 runs in 3 overs. Joginder Sharma made Pakistan's problems easy by throwing the first ball of the last over wide. Now Pakistan had to score 12 runs in 6 balls, in which Misbah-ul-Haq also seemed capable.

Joginder Sharma again bowled the first ball and was missed by Misbah-ul-Haq. Now 12 runs were to be scored from 5 balls. The second ball of the over was thrown by Joginder Sharma with a full-toss, on which Misbah-ul-Haq hit a six to increase the odds of the Indian camp. After that, what happened on the third ball was a historic moment for India, as Misbah tried to hit the third ball from behind the wicket with a scoop shot, but the ball bounced in the air as S Sreesanth caught it.

Thus Pakistan's innings came to an end and the Indian team started celebrating. The Indian team where celebrating winning the T20 World Cup in South Africa. At the same time, fireworks started in India, as it was no less than a Diwali for the cricket lovers and when the long haired MS Dhoni lifted the ICC T20 World Cup trophy, the atmosphere became even more pleasant. In this match, Irfan Pathan got the man of the match, who took 3 wickets for 16 runs in 4 overs.


⚡️Fastest Live Score

Never miss any exciting cricket moment